Tags

Chai Latte Recipe

Call it my ineptness or whatever, but I was unable to locate a good premixed masala for masala chai here in Singa.  I had some at the Bombay Cafe in Little India, but it wasn’t so great. So the next best thing was the Starbucks Chai Latte, masala chai’s weak cousin. Of course, all this was because I was too lazy to make my own.
But last week, I finally got off my arse and just did it.

Here’s the recipe. If you want, you can store the ground masala in an airtight container (this is what I did) and use it over a few months.

Tea leaves 4-6 teaspoons
Milk 1 cup
Chai masala 1 teaspoon
Sugar 2 spoons or according to taste

For the chai masala:

Cinnamon 1 inch stick
Green cardamoms 4
Black peppercorns 6
Nutmeg,grated 1/4 teaspoon

Method

Dry grind all the masala ingredients to a fine powder. Let it cool completely then sieve. Store in an airtight container.

Use the masala as and when required to make tea. Boil three cups of water in a pan.

Add tea leaves, milk, the powdered masala and sugar; bring the mixture to a boil again. Boil for a couple of minutes.

Strain and serve piping hot on a rainy evening with something salty and crunchy to eat 🙂

