Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

It all started with these trees outside our terrace. It used to be filled with tiny bright green leaves. But over the winter rains, it has now grown into a canopy of green made up of perfectly symmetrical sprigs of perfectly shaped leaves. Of course, I have been itching to draw it.

One afternoon, I was sitting outside and I casually tried to draw a single branch with my pentel black ink brushpen. Then I figured that dipping the pen in water makes the ink softer which can help me achieve a kind of glazing technique to create overlaps. Now, if you’ve had formal training or are taking classes, this may sound laughable to you. But for me, this was a total revelation.

brushpen leaves

This revelation has led to a full-on brushpen madness. Based on my casual sketch, I am now working on a painting of the trees. Hopefully, I’ll get to post that soon.

P.S. Does anyone know what these trees are called?

 

